Astwood Bank Primary School

"A centre of learning and opportunity"

The Governing Body


Welcome from the Chair of Governors

I would like to offer you a very warm welcome to Astwood Bank Primary School. My name is Alison Flower and I have the honour and privilege of being the Chair of Governors.

I have been a governor at the school for over 10 years and the Chair for the last year. I am passionate about the school, its staff, the pupils and its place within our local community.

During my time as a governor we have changed to an Academy, added the two final Key Stage 2 years to become a full Primary School and have had two very disrupted years of Covid. Throughout these changes I have been inspired by how the staff and students throughout the school have coped with the challenges and have upheld and strengthened our school values and aims.

It is with great pride that I visit the school and witness the outstanding teaching of our staff; see the children interacting with our wonderful school environment; hear about the extra-curriculum activities that enrich everyone’s lives and most importantly feel the respectful, caring, family atmosphere that is fostered within our school, which in turn provides the best environment for all our children to thrive educationally and individually.

If you would like to contact the governors directly then please email us (FAO the trustees) or please feel free to talk to me directly on the mornings that I am at the front entrance or at school events.

Alison Flower Chair of Governors / English / Term of office from 12 Jul 2019 to 11 Jul 2023 / First appointed on 12 Jul 2015

Jayne Warhurst Clerk to the Governors / First joined in 2023

Debbie Yarnold Head Teacher / First appointed on 4 Jan 2010

Stewart Andrews Staff Governor / H&S / Term of office from 9 Jan 2024 to 8 Jan 2028 / First appointed on 9 Jan 2024

Sue Warman Associate Trustee / Term of office from 5 Oct 2020 to 4 Oct 2024 / First appointed on 6 Oct 2016

Craig Hughes Parent Governor / Physical Education / Term of office from 16 Nov 2020 to 15 Nov 2024 / First appointed on 16 Nov 2020

Amy Woolston Parent Governor / Staff Development & Wellbeing / Term of office from 9 Jan 2024 to 8 Jan 2028 / First appointed on 9 Jan 2024

Claire Keene Parent Governor / Science & Pupil Premium /Term of office from 1 Sep 2021 to 31 Aug 2025 / First appointed on 1 Jul 2021

Nicola Smith Parent Governor / SEND & EYFS / Term of office from 6 Dec 2021 to 5 Dec 2025 / First appointed on 1 Dec 2021

Michelle Stack Staff Governor / SEND / Term of office from 4 Sept 2022 to 3 Sept 2026 / First appointed on 23 May 2014

Camilla Smart Staff Governor / Term of office from 16 Nov 2021 to 16 Nov 2024 / First appointed on 1 Nov 2021

Tracey Wood Staff Governor / Term of office from 9 Jan 2024 to 8 Jan 2028 / First appointed on 9 Jan 2024

Paul Mellows Associate Governor & Deputy Head / Term of office from 1 Oct 2020 to 30 Sept 2024 / First appointed on 1 Oct 2020

Skip to content